State Board Member Login

Join Our Email List

Bruce Murray, Trustee of the Year Awards Go to Deserving Leaders

On the occasion of the NAIFA-Texas Conference and Annual Business Meeting, the association took the time to recognize two outstanding leaders for their service.

NAIFA-Texas Immediate Past President Stephen Ehlers, LUTCF was the recipient of this year's NAIFA-Great Southwest Bruce Murray Tall Texan Award. The Bruce Murray Tall Texan Award recipient is determined based upon the demonstration of the following criteria: political involvement, general association involvement, community service, education, and membership.

Stephen has been a member of NAIFA since the day he joined his father's business and has followed in the footsteps of the late Robert Ehlers in demonstrating passion for the industry, his clients, and the NAIFA federation.  Ehlers carries on the Parade of States Flag Ceremony tradition started by his father at each NAIFA National conference, which will celebrate its 31st anniversary this year in our very own Lone Star State. Ehlers contributes to IFAPAC at the Diplomat level. He is also a 2002 Leadership in Life Institute (LILI) graduate and has applied those leadership principles throughout his service at the state and local level. Stephen truly embodies the definition of a servant leader, and we commend him on this oustanding accomplishment.

Jason Talley, LUTCF was named "Outstanding Trustee of the Year," an honor bestowed upon one NAIFA-Texas trustee each year by the President for exemplary service. Talley serves as a member of the NAIFA-Texas executive committee. He is a 17-year member, 2000 LILI graduate and currently serves as the NAIFA-Texas Government Relations and Membership Chairs. He contributes to IFAPAC at the Diplomat level. Talley has been elected Secretary/Treasurer for the 2013-2014 year.